Skip to main content
Conga Support

User roles and permissions

Conga Collaborate provides you with three default user roles that define a user's access to functions and documents and establish privacy hierarchies.

  • System Administrator: Has full access to everything in the account.  Can view and edit all documents and templates as well as access all available account settings
  • Manager: Has view and edit access to any documents generated by users set up as either their Manager or their Report in the User Relationship Hierarchy
  • Standard User: Can create documents and templates, can manage his or her personal settings, and can view but not edit others' documents and templates
New users that you create default to the Standard role.

Follow these steps to change the default role a user is assigned to:
  1. From your user dropdown, go to Administration => Roles and Permissions.
  2. Click the role to which you want to add users.
  3. Click Add User.
  4. Select the checkbox next to users you want to add to the role.
  5. Click Add Users.

Permissions in default roles are not customizable, but you can create a custom role and then customize any specific user permission within that role. Contact your Account Manager for assistance in changing user permissions for a custom role.

  • Was this article helpful?