Skip to main content
Conga Support

Creating a Workflow (Workflow Wizard)

Workflows are created using the Workflow Wizard, which guides you through the process of creating a workflow once you select a template and a workflow team. The Workflow Wizard is also used to edit a workflow.

The Workflow Wizard can be launched from a Contract Profile, Company Profile, or Project Profile.

  Although the Contract Profile is used in the example below, the same steps also apply to creating a workflow in a Company Profile and Project Profile.

image1262.png

A

Workflows button

Click to display the Workflows browse screen in the Workflow Profile.

Note: The Workflow Profile contains basic information for the Contract, Company, or Project Profile and is displayed in the top potion of the screen. The Workflows browse screen displays a list of active workflows and displays in the bottom portion of the screen.

image1269.png

B

New Workflow button

Click to launch the Workflow Wizard.

Note: Ensure the Active Workflows tab (default view) is selected.

 
Step 1: Read Welcome Screen

A

Next button

Click to proceed to the next step of the wizard.

 
Step 2: Select Workflow Template

A

Workflow Template list

Select the appropriate template.  If more than one template is available, select the template that most closely describes the process or procedure you want to add to the profile.

B

Next button

Click to proceed to the next step of the wizard.

 
Step 3: Review/edit Workflow Information

A

Workflow Name and Description fields

If you want to customize the workflow by editing its default name and description, simply click in the Workflow Name or Workflow Description field, and type over the existing text.

Note: If the text in the Description field exceeds the viewing area of the field, click the Expand link to display a window that will allow you to view the text in its entirety.

B

Workflow Owner list

If you want to assign the workflow to another user, select their name in the list of available people. By default, you are the Workflow Owner.

Note: The Workflow Owner can complete, reassign, and approve any step in the workflow, as well manage workflow documents, and edit, close, and delete the workflow.

C

CC Workflow Owner check box

Select if you want the Workflow Owner to receive an email message whenever a change is made to the workflow.

D

Next button

Click to proceed to the next step of the wizard.

 
Step 4: Select Routing Table

Important: If there are no approval steps in the workflow, or if an approval step requires only one approval, this step will not display.

A

Step Name and Step Description fields

Review the information on the step that needs approval.

B

Routing Table list

Click in the field to activate it, and then select the appropriate routing table from the list of available options. If there is only one routing table, it is automatically selected.

Note: A routing table is a list of two or more users that must approve the workflow step.

C

Next button

Click to proceed to the next step of the wizard.

 
Step 5: Select Workflow Team

A

Workflow Team list

Select a workflow team from the list of available teams. The team members and their contact information displays at the bottom of the window.

Note: The members of a Workflow Team are assigned to complete the individual steps in a workflow. Team members must be program users.

B

Delete icon

Click on the Icon Delete icon for a team member (or distribution list) if you want to delete them from the team.

C

Add Team Member button

  • If you want to add another member or distribution list to the Workflow Team, click on the button to display the Address Book.
  • If you do not want to add any new team members, proceed to Step G.

Important: An external participant must have a Novatus Portal account before they can participate in the workflow.

D

Address Book records

Locate the person or the distribution list you want to add to the team, and click on their name. The selected user or list appears at the top of the screen in the Selected text box. To remove a user or distribution list from the team, click the corresponding delete icon.

E

Search option

To quickly locate a person or distribution list, type the first few letters of the person’s name or the distribution list name in the Search field, and click on the icon. To clear the filter, click on the icon.

F

Submit button

Click to add the person (or distribution list) to the Workflow Team.

G

Next button

Click to proceed to the next step of the wizard.

 
Step 6: Select Owners for Steps

The wizard displays a list of the steps in the workflow. For each step, a team member must be assigned to complete the task associated with the step. The list of people available for each step is based on the functions that each person has been assigned in Novatus. If only one person is qualified to perform the task, their name is automatically displayed in the Owner field.

A

Owner lists

Click in the field to activate the list, and then select an owner for each step in the workflow.

Note: A step that is divided into sub-steps (e.g., steps 5.1 and 5.2) indicates that it is an approval step and there is more than one person needed to approve the step.

B

Next button

Click to proceed to the next step of the wizard.

 
Step 7: Save Workflow

A

Finish button

Click to create the new workflow and exit the Workflow Wizard.

Important: After running the wizard, the workflow is displayed as a record in the Workflows browse screen. When you click on a record, the screen refreshes and displays the individual steps in the workflow. From this screen, you can view and monitor each step as it is completed. Novatus sends an email notification to the owner of each workflow step, informing him/her that they need to complete the step.