Skip to main content
Conga Support

Editing a Global Message

A global message can easily be edited before it is scheduled to display in a user's Dashboard. You can change the subject of the message, the date it is scheduled to be displayed and/or removed, the message itself, and the recipients for the message. You can also change the way the message will be categorized in a user's Dashboard (i.e., as a Warning, Alert, or simply an Informational message).

image658.png

A

Navigation Toolbar

Click on Admin to display a menu, and select Global Messaging to display the Global Messages screen.

Note: If the Global Messaging link is not present, you do not have the permissions to use this feature.

B

Global Message record

Locate the global message you want to edit, and click on the message to display a screen that allows you to edit the message.

Note: Global messages are displayed under three categories (Alert, Information, and Warning) and all categories are expanded so that you can easily locate a message.

image659.png

C

Edit button

Click to display the screen in edit mode.

image660.png

D

Subject field

If you want to change the subject of the global message, edit the existing text. The text in this field appears as the heading of the global message in the user's Dashboard.

E

Priority list

If you want to change the priority of the message, make a different selection in the list. The options are Information, Warning, and Alert. The Warning and Alert messages display with a color-coded background.

F

Start Date field

If you want to reschedule the date on which the global message will first display in the user's Dashboard, edit the date. You can also click on the icon and use the pop-up calendar to quickly locate the date.

G

End Date field

If you want to change the date on which the global message will be removed from the user's Dashboard, edit the date. You can also click on the icon and use the pop-up calendar to quickly locate the date

Note: If you leave this field blank, the global message will remain in a user's Dashboard until an end date is set or the message is deleted.

H

Message Body field

If you want to update or change the original message, edit the message text. The text in this field appear under the heading of the global message in the user's Dashboard.

I

Formatting toolbar

If you want to change the formatting of the message, use the options in the toolbar to change the font style, size, color, as well as the background color for text. You can also change the text alignment, indent text, and add numbers and bullets to paragraphs of text.

J

Insert/Edit Link button

  • If there is a hyperlink in the message and you want to edit it, highlight it, and then click on the Icon Link.pngicon to display its Insert Link window.
  • If you want to add a hyperlink to the message, click on the Icon Link.pngicon to display an Insert Link window. See Adding a Global Message.

K

Insert Link window

Edit the fields, as needed, and then click the OK button:

  • URL - update the link by typing over the existing text, or copying/pasting a new link into the field.
  • Text to display - this field is auto-populated with the information from the URL field, but you can edit the text if you want the change the way in which the link is displayed in the global message.
  • Title field - edit the information by typing over the existing text. This field is used if the name or purpose of the link is not readily apparent.
  • Target list - currently, this list defaults to New Page, which indicates that the link will open in a new browser window.

L

Roles check boxes

If you want to change the user roles that will receive the message, select and/or de-select the appropriate check boxes.

M

Save button

Click to save your changes and edit the global message.

  • Was this article helpful?