Skip to main content
Conga Support

Copying a Workflow Template

The Copy feature is a quick and easy way to create a new workflow using an existing, similar workflow template. Once you create the duplicate workflow, simply rename it, edit the steps appropriately, update the company, contract, and project restrictions, and edit the workflow template properties.

image410.png

A

Navigation Toolbar

Click on Admin to display a menu of your administrator functions.

B

Workflow link

Select to display a Workflows menu.

Note: If the Workflow link is not present, you do not have the permissions to use this feature.

C

Workflows menu

Click on the Workflow Templates button to display the Workflow Templates browse screen.

image417.png

D

New button

Click to display the Workflow Template Edit screen.

image418.png

E

Copy button

Click to display a Copy Workflow Template dialogue box.

F

Copy Workflow Template dialogue box

Locate the template you want to copy in the Copy Template list, and click on it to select it. Then, click the Copy button to create a copy of the workflow template.

G

Template Name and Template Description fields

Enter a unique name for the new template in the Template Name field. Enter a description of the template in the Template Description field so that its purpose is easily distinguishable from other routing tables.

Note: If the text you enter exceeds the viewing area of the field, click the Expand link to display a window that will allow you to view the text in its entirety.

image419.png

H

Add Step button

Click if another step needs to be added to the workflow.

I

Type list

If you want to edit a step's type, click in the field to activate it, and make another selection in the list. The options are Action Item, Communication, Simple Gateway (approval step with one approver), and Gateway (approval step with more than one approver).

J

Step Name field

If you want to edit the name of a step, click in the field to activate it, and type over the existing text

K

Description field

If you want to edit a step's description, click in the field to activate it, and type over the existing text.

L

Function/Routing multi-select list

If you want to change the job function(s) that people must have in order to be the "owner" of an Action Item or Communication step, click in the field to activate it, and change the selection(s) in the list. A step owner has the authority to perform the task identified in the step.

  • For a Gateway step, you can select a different routing table to be used for the workflow. The Novatus system will automatically send out emails to the approvers in the routing table.
  • For a Simple Gateway step, you can update the user role(s) that can approve the step.

M

Lock Object check box

If you want to change the step at which the contract should be locked (i.e., no further edits can be made), select the appropriate check box by clicking inside it. To de-select a check box, simply click on it.

N

Contract Status list

If you want to change the status of the contract in any step, click in the field to activate it, and then make another selection in the list. The Novatus system automatically performs the status change.

Note: This field should only be populated for those steps that require a change in the contract's status.

O

Prerequisite Step(s) multi-select list

If you want to change the steps that must be completed before another step is activated, click on any Action Item or Communication step type to display a Prerequisite Step(s) multi-select list for that step. Update the selection(s) in the list by clicking on the list arrow to display the available options, and then clicking on a step number to select it. To de-select a step number, simply click on it.

P

Declined Step and Approved Step lists (Gateway steps only)

If you want to update the step(s) to be taken when a Gateway step is approved or declined, click on a Gateway or Simple Gateway step type to display the Declined Step and Approved Step lists.

  • To change the number of the step that should be performed next if the Gateway step is approved, update the selection in the Approved Step list.
  • To change the number of the step that should be repeated if the Gateway step is not approved, update the selection in the Declined Step list.

Q

Delete icon

Click on the icon for a workflow step if you want to remove the step from the template.

R

Restrictions tab

Click to display a screen that allows you to edit the restrictions for the new workflow template.

image421.png

S

Company multi-select lists

Update the restrictions in the Company Group and Legal Entity lists, as needed. When a workflow is added to a Company Profile, this template will be available as a selection in the Workflow Wizard if the Company Group and Legal Entity fields in the profile match the company restrictions you select for the template.

Note: If you leave these fields blank, users can access this template when adding a workflow to any Company Profile.

T

Contract multi-select lists

Update the restrictions in the Contract Type, Contract Group, and Agreement Type lists, as needed. When a workflow is added to a Contract Profile, this template will be available as a selection in the Workflow Wizard if the Contract Type, Contract Group, and Agreement Type fields in the profile match the contract restrictions you select for the template.

Note: If you leave these fields blank, users can access this template when adding a workflow to any Contract Profile.

U

Project Type multi-select list

Update the restriction(s) in the in the Project Type list, as needed. When a workflow is added to a Project Profile, this template will be available as a selection in the Workflow Wizard if the Project Type field in the profile matches the Project Type restriction(s) you select for the template routing table.

Note: If you leave this field blank, users can access this template when adding a workflow to any Project Profile.

V

Lock Workflow Teams check box

Select if you want do not want any members to be added or removed from the workflow team for this workflow template.

W

Limit Workflow Owners to Admins check box

Select if you want only users with Administrator permissions to be workflow step owners.

X

Allow Reassign Step Owner check box

Select if you want to permit a workflow step owner to assign their responsibility for completing the step to another person.

Y

Automatically Assign Step Owners to a Contract Responsibility check box

Select if you want the Novatus system to automatically assign all the step owners in the workflow to a position of responsibility and display their name/responsibility in the Contract Profile. The Contract Responsibility list automatically displays when this check box is selected. Select the responsibility you want to assign to all step owners from the list of available options.

Z

Limit Workflow Teams to My Teams check box

Select if you want to limit the workflow teams that can use the template to only those teams to which the Administrator who created the workflow belongs.

AA

Auto Assign Runner to Step Owner check box

Select if you want the Administrator who creates the workflow template to be included in the list of possible step owners for all workflow steps.

BB

Allow Reassign Approver check box

Select if the original approver of a step can reassign the responsibility of approving the step to another user.

CC

Save button

Click to add the new workflow template using the Copy feature.

  • Was this article helpful?