Skip to main content
Conga Support

Granting a User an Additional Role (Permission)

The roles that a user can play may change over time due to increased responsibilities, and/or new program features that require permission in order to use the feature. Therefore, individual User Profiles need to be updated periodically to reflect new responsibilities and permission to new features by granting the user one or more additional roles.

For new features, the new permission can be associated with a new user role by adding a new role, and then granting it to individual users.  A quicker way of granting users an additional permission is to expand the role that users already hold by adding the permission to that role.

Expanding a User Role

Expanding a user role guarantees that all users who hold this role will also have the new permission.

1.  Click Admin in the Navigation Toolbar, and click the Roles link.

2.  In the Roles screen, locate the role that needs the additional permission, and click on it to select it.

3.  In the Role Profile screen, click Edit in the toolbar.

NewRolePerm.png

4.  When the screen refreshes, scroll down to the Permission Types section.

5.  In the Permission Type Name field, locate the new permission type in the alphabetized list, and select its check box.

6.  Click Save.

Adding a User Role and Granting the Role to Users

Adding a user role for a new permission ensures security since the permission must be granted to each user individually.

1.  Add the new user role

  The screen shot below shows a new Document Assembly role that allows users to edit a Word document using clauses from the Clause Library without launching Novatus.

UserNewPerm1.png

2.  Click Admin in the Navigation Toolbar, and click the Users link.

3.  In the Users screen, locate the user who needs the new role, and click on their user record.

UserNewPerm2.png

4.  In the User Profile screen, scroll to the bottom of the screen.

5.  In the Role Name field, locate the new role in the alphabetized list, and select its check box.

6.  Click Save.

  • Was this article helpful?