Skip to main content
Conga Support

Editing a User Role

Administrators can update the tasks and permissions assigned to individual user roles, as needed.

A

Navigation Toolbar

Click on Admin to display a menu of your administrator functions, and click on Roles to display the Roles browse screen.

Note: If the Roles link is not in your Admin menu, you do not have the permissions to use this feature.

B

Role records

Locate the role you want to edit, and click on it to display its Role Profile.

image054.png

C

Edit button

Click to display its Role Profile in edit mode.

image055.png

D

Role Name and Role Description fields

If you want to edit the role's name and/or description, click in the Role Name and/or the Role Description field, and type over the existing text.

E

Clause Security list

If you want to change the security level for the clauses that this user role can access when providing alternative language for a contract, make a different selection in the list.

F

Company Groups check boxes

If you want to change the company permissions, select (or de-select) the appropriate check boxes for each company group:

  • Viewable - allows users to view the information in the Company Profiles for companies in this group.
  • Create - allows users to add to the information stored in the Company Profiles for companies in this group, including creating events, sending messages, and adding locations, people, relationships, tasks, scorecards, additional forms, and additional names.
  • Modify - allows users to edit the basic information in the Company Profile screen for companies in this group, as well as editing the stored information for events, messages, locations, people, relationships, tasks, scorecards, additional forms, and additional names.
  • Documents - allows users to view and download documents stored in the Company Profiles for companies in this group.
  • Document Upload - allows users to upload documents to the Company Profile. When this check box is selected, the Viewable and Documents check boxes are automatically selected since this permission works in conjunction with the feature that allows any user, even the Restrict To My Contracts role, to run the eSignature Package Wizard after having a contract request approved. 
  • Full - allows users all of the above permissions and auto-populates all the check boxes.

image056.png

G

Contract Groups tab

If you want to change the contract permissions, click on the Contract Groups tab to display the contract groups.

H

Contract Groups check boxes

If you want to change the contract permissions, select (or de-select) the appropriate check boxes for each contract group:

  • Viewable - allows users to view the information in the Contract Profiles for contracts in this group.
  • Create - allows users to add to the information stored in the Contract Profiles for contracts in this group, including creating events, sending messages, and adding tasks, payments, addresses, people, products, scorecards, and additional forms.
  • Modify - allows users to edit the basic information in the Contract Profile screen for contracts in this group, as well as editing the stored information for events, messages, tasks, payments, addresses, people, products, scorecards, and additional forms.
  • Documents - allows users to view and download documents stored in the Contract Profiles for contracts in this group.
  • Document Upload - allows users to upload documents to the Contract Profile. When this check box is selected, the Viewable and Documents check boxes are automatically selected.
  • Run eSignature Wizard - allows users to run the eSignature Package Wizard. This permission works in conjunction with the CONTRACT REQUEST feature and allows users who have made a contract request, which has been approved, to run the wizard so that the contract is sent for eSignature to all signatories.
  • Full - allows users all of the above permissions and auto-populates all the check boxes, except the Run eSignature Wizard check box, which must be selected separately. If you click on the Full check box without first selecting the Run eSignature Wizard check box, the Full check box will remain unselected.

I

Project Groups tab

If you want to change the project permissions, click on the Project Groups tab to display the project groups, select (or de-select) the appropriate check boxes for each project group.

Note: The permissions for the project groups are the same as those for company groups (see Step F).

J

Dynamic Forms tab

If you want to change the permissions for the dynamic forms that this user role can access, click on the Dynamic Forms tab, and select (or de-select) the appropriate check boxes for each dynamic form:

  • Viewable check box - select if you want users with this role to be able to only view the dynamic form. 
  • Create check box - select if users can capture this dynamic form in a profile. The dynamic form may be linked to a Company, Contract, or Project Profile.
  • Modify check box - select if users can edit the information for the dynamic form.
  • Full check box - select to give users all of the above permissions and auto-populate all the check boxes.
K Document Types tab

If you want to change the permissions for the document types that this user role can access, click on the Document Types tab, and select (or de-select) the appropriate check boxes for each document type:

  • Viewable check box - select if you want users with this role to be able to only view documents of this type that have been uploaded to Company, Contract, and Project Profiles.
  • Create check box - select if users can add documents of this type to Company, Contract, and Project Profiles.
  • Modify check box - select if users can edit documents of this type that have been uploaded to Company, Contract, and Project Profiles.
  • Full check box - select to give users all of the above permissions and auto-populate all the check boxes.

Important: The document types that appear in this list are determined by the selections made in the Role Security check boxes in the Document Types list in the List Administration screen.

L

Permission Types check boxes

If you want to change the specific permissions for users with this role, select (or de-select) the appropriate check boxes. See Standard Permission Types for a listing of the default permission types in Novatus Contracts.

M

Save button

Click to save your updates and edit the user role.

  • Was this article helpful?