Novatus is a complex and dynamic contract management solution that offers a myriad of features to support the needs of its users and Administrators. While Novatus can accommodate several users and Administrators performing different functions simultaneously, there have been instances where two or more Administrators performing edits to the same data at the same time will result in lost edits, and may even cause their browser to lock up or crash. When the uncommon situation arises wherein Administrators are performing simultaneous edits to the same data, Novatus will only recognize the edits that were saved last, and disregard the prior edits.
An example is provided in the following scenario:
- Administrator #1 and Administrator #2 open the same Contract Additional Form at the same time to make edits.
- Administrator #1 adds a new field list (e.g., Delivery Method) to the form, and then saves the Additional Form.
- Meanwhile, Administrator #2 is deleting a field list (e.g., Accuracy of Delivery) from the same Additional Form. Administrator #2 saves their edits to the form after Administrator #1 has saved their edits.
- Novatus would recognize only the edits made by Administrator #2 (deletion of Accuracy of Delivery field list), and the edits entered by Administrator #1 (addition of new Delivery Method field list) would not be saved.
A System Administrator can disable simultaneous editing by selecting the Concurrent Profile Edit Locks check box in the System Settings screen.