Skip to main content
Conga Support

Making a document public or private

For any of your Documents, Presentations, Templates, pages of content, or Content, you can determine who does what by changing the privacy settings.

By default, Conga Collaborate standard users cannot edit visibility settings, and their documents and Content are marked as Private. To change these settings, create a custom role and enable the permission “Allow the ability to make library items public.” This will default their documents and Content to public and will allow them to edit visibility settings.

Visibility settings differ based on whether or not your account is using workgroups.

If workgroups are not enabled, then you have two settings, Private and Public:

  • Private - You can see and edit the item, along with anybody designated as your Manager in the Conga Collaborate user hierarchy

  • Public - Every user can see and edit

If workgroups are enabled, then you have three settings:

  • Shared with no workgroups - You can see and edit the item, along with any user designated as your Manager in the Conga Collaborate user hierarchy

  • Shared with all workgroups - Every user can see and edit

  • Shared with some workgroups - Users in the selected workgroups can see and edit, along with any user designated as your Manager in the Conga Collaborate user hierarchy

There are three locations from which you can edit the visibility settings of a document or content element:

  1. From the Documents list:

    1. Click on the Icon Box of the document on which you would like to change the visibility settings

    2. Select the Edit button that appears in the top right hand corner of the page

    3. Click on the Privacy dropdown

    4. Select one of the privacy settings as described above

    5. Click Save

  2. From the Content library:

    1. Click on the thumbnail of the content element on which you would like to change the visibility settings

    2. Select the Edit button that appears in the top right hand corner of the page

    3. Select one of the privacy settings as described above

    4. Click Save

  3. From within the Document or piece of Content:

    1. Open the document or content element on which you want to change the visibility settings

    2. Open the Properties panel

    3. Go to the Privacy section

    4. Select one of the privacy settings as described above

  • Was this article helpful?